Southern Cookin' Makes You Good Lookin'

Random Rantings about Food and Such

Creamy White Chili

on 08/12/2011

Some people are just timeless.  Have you ever wondered if J.M. Barrie modeled Peter Pan after someone he knew?  I know a few Pans myself (but will refrain from naming names…unless given proper motivation.  I’ll set up that Paypal account as soon as i’m finished.)  However, i will list one timeless person for free.  My buddy Lisa.  The gal is a kid at heart.  She is a child’s best pal.  She will take them places that would cause most adults to start perspiring just thinking about; do crazy stuff with them no matter how messy or silly; and will love them no matter how badly they need their rear ends swatted.  That’s Lisa Pan.

She also loves to cook and is rather adventurous too, so i’ve been bugging her to do a guest post on here.  This isn’t exactly her taking over for an entire post but she did send us a recipe and some personal observation!  So, thank you, Lisa Pan, for the chili!  And the fun times.  The world is a happier and crazier place because of you.

Creamy White Chili

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts cut up in cubes (I used tenders)
1 medium onion, chopped
1-1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp oil
2 cans (15-1/2 oz ea) Great Northern Beans, rinsed and drained
1 can (14-1/2 oz) chicken broth
2 cans (4 oz ea) chopped green chilies
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp Mexican Chipotle Pepper
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup heavy cream

Saute chicken in oil in large pot til chicken is no longer pink.
Add onion.  Saute til onion is transluscent.
Add next 7 ingredients.  Bring to a simmer and heat for 30 minutes.
Turn off heat and add sour cream and heavy cream.

I am trying to watch our calories so I doubled the amount of chicken broth and used whole milk instead of the heavy cream and I added a bag of frozen white corn at the very end of the simmer.  It was still very rich and I like the sweet crunch of the corn.  Just had some for lunch and it was better today than yesterday.  I also buy the prefrozen chicken tenders.  I just tossed them in to the pot whole and broke them apart as it all simmered.  It was a “very last minute throw together quick Johnny’s on his way home what’s for dinner” meal.

2 responses to “Creamy White Chili

  1. Lisa says:

    Well thanks. This is just great. I probably just killed a dozen people who will actually try my recipe. And as far as peter pan. Well kids are full of drama and adults are full of drama. The difference — kids forgive and adults hold a grudge. I will take the forgiveness any day and stay young in heart until the Lord calls me home despite the fact that my eyes fail me and most everything has headed south on my weary body. I can jiggle and wiggle with the best of them. Life is hard, and it sucks some times. But my rewards are not here on earth. They are awaiting me in heaven; so I will take this life and smile counting all the blessings God has given me on this earth of which you my friend are at the top of the list. Love U sister.

Leave a Reply

