Southern Cookin' Makes You Good Lookin'

Random Rantings about Food and Such

Peanut Butter and Jelly Pizza

on 06/14/2011

As i’ve said, my biggest motivation to do this blog is for my girls.  Sad to say, they’re not babies anymore.  Ashley just turned 22 and Stephanie will be 21 in a little over a week.  Not sure how that’s possible– although my mirror says that on my end, it’s entirely possible!  When i was their age, i actually had enough smarts to get my beloved Granny (Smith–not, not the apple, although she was a peach!) to give me her recipes for her world famous Chicken and Dumplings and her Thanksgiving Dressing.  Now that’s not as easy as it sounds; not because she wasn’t willing to share but because she didn’t need measurements.  Her eyes and her mouth knew when she had just the right ingredients.  Alas, I still can’t make either dish as good as Granny did but I’m so thankful to have the recipes!  We’ve lost three precious cousins on my Mama’s side of the family within a month’s time and that has a way of making you think, doesn’t it?  My love of cooking is a  no-brainer.  We were blessed with fabulous cooks on both sides of my family and food is just one of our main ways of saying “I love you.”  So, please, give this a thought.  If there’s someone in your family who is famous for a certain dish or who has copies of passed-down recipes that you don’t have, don’t wait.  Ask  for them now!

So, girls, here’s a contribution to your collection of our family recipes, the newest one in the bunch.  We fell in love with the Peanut Butter and Jelly Pizza at a local restaurant, Pizza Montese.  It’s basically only four ingredients, so how hard could that be?  Have to admit i’m still not sure what the crunchy topping on their version is (seems almost like toasted bread crumbs?) but our version utilized what was staring me in the face one day when i opened the pantry.  Dontcha just love that?  This recipe is very inexpensive but has such a WOW! factor that you’ll be keeping the ingredients on hand.  BTW, the first time i tried making this, i used a different kind of jelly and probably will try Strawberry Jam in the near future just to see; but honestly, good ol’ Concord Grape Jelly is the perfect companion to this dish.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Pizza

1–6.5 oz. package of pizza crust mix

Jar of creamy peanut butter

Grape Jelly (in the squeeze bottle works really well)

Handful of pretzels, crushed finely

Prepare pizza crust as described on package.  Bake for approximately ten minutes or until crust is firm and lightly brown.

The next step is the longest and most difficult.  Wait until the pizza is still nicely warm but cool enough that the peanut butter won’t liquify.  I don’t know how long that is.  I still haven’t been able to wait till that sweet spot arrives.

Spread peanut butter over entire crust.  Squeeze or dollop grape jelly along top and slightly mix in with peanut butter.

Top with crushed pretzel bits.

Feeds 1–6 people

2 responses to “Peanut Butter and Jelly Pizza

  1. Linn Hauck says:

    Hi Chickie,
    I think my grand children would love your peanut butter and jelly pizza. I will give it a try the next time they are here for a sleep over at grandma house. I love the tile of your blog site or what every you call this I am not to up on all this cp stuff. My grand kids got me signed up on facebook. I will check in from time to time and see whats cook.
    Blessing
    Linn Hauck

Leave a Reply

