Southern Cookin' Makes You Good Lookin'

Random Rantings about Food and Such

What’s Cookin’, Good-Lookin’?

on 06/13/2011

Now why in the world would i decide to do a blog?  Hmmm.  I can think of several reasons for me NOT to do one.

1)  My life is so fascinating and interesting that everyone should read about it.  Insert Epic Fail, as Ashley would say.

2)  My take on the political scene or my knowledge on any topic is so encompassing that the reader would benefit greatly. Yeah, right.

3)  I can make a boatload of money from the advertising that will accompany my universally read musings.  Wishful thinking.

 

So, why?  Here’s why.  My girls have said that one of the draws…okay, one of the main draws of living at home is Mama’s cooking. Now we’ll all agree that they’re prejudiced; that being said, this is for them.  It’s true–I do enjoy cooking.  Not a chef by any stretch of the imagination and my cooking is pretty much home cooking and standard fare.  You won’t find any recipes for foies gras (for you regular folks like me that’s French for “fat liver” and comes from the liver of a fattened goose or duck.  Yuck.)  I do like to walk a little on the wild side at times and have a penchant for spicy, so non-Southerners/Texans beware.

Don’t be afraid to tell me what you think of the recipes or any of my rantings.  If you can make it better, tell us!  If you like it, tell us why.  One of my main criteria when choosing recipes at different websites is how highly it is rated.

This summer I’m canning again and have already started with Strawberry Jam made with Splenda and….(drum roll, please) Strawberry Jalapeno Jam.  Aichiwawa!  That stuff is muy bueno!  Recipe to come.

Not good lookin’ but not cause i’m not tryin’.

3 responses to “What’s Cookin’, Good-Lookin’?

  1. Lisa Walker says:

    You are my hero!

  2. Lisa Walker says:

    Do you have a “subscribe by email”. If so put me on it.

Leave a Reply

